Skip to content

Bienvenidos a España

January 18, 2012

The Spanish flagPhoto Credit

Because I started this blog a little late in the game, I’m gonna give you all a recap of what happened within the past two weeks. I’ll try to be brief but no promises. Here we go with my first attempt.

El Avión – The Plane

This part of the trip is not very exciting, so I’ll be brief. Let’s just say packing was not easy. I had to edit out a lot most of what I originally packed and yet my suitcase still somehow ended up weighing just under the 50 lb limit.

This is the airline that I flew. Not too sure what my plane looked like but this’ll do — Photo Credit

As for the actual plane ride (about 12 hours direct) it wasn’t too bad. For those of you who asked me beforehand if I could sleep on a plane and I said I didn’t know… well I know now. Sort of. I tried really hard to sleep throughout the whole flight but was only able to fall asleep for about an hour. So the answer, I guess, is not really.

But the best part of my whole flight had to be looking out the window and seeing (what I’m assuming is) the Portugal coast.

Imagine: You’re sitting on a plane confined between an adorable Italian grandmother who you cannot communicate with and a wall. You’ve been in darkness and discomfort for 10 hours. When you finally open the shade you are greeted by bright light and blue ocean. But wait?! What is that ahead? LAND!! Oh sweet, beautiful, magnificent land! 

Yeah I know it’s a little dramatic. But that’s what happens after too many hours without sleep cramped in tight place. I tried to grab my camera to snap a picture, but sadly I wasn’t quick enough. Here’s one that I found on Flickr that can give you an idea of what I saw.

I felt like I was a sailor at this moment. Land ahoy! — Photo Credit

El Aeropuerto – The Airport

I won’t get too detailed into this story. In summary:

The luggage pick up was super confusing (if you plan on ever flying into Madrid, let me know & I’ll explain the process to you). It was extremely hot. My carryon strap had broke and it was really heavy and difficult to carry around. There were HUNDREDS of people all trying to get on a tram that comes only every 5-7 minutes. And I had 2 hours to get to my hotel for a meeting. Oh yeah, and did I mention how hot it was?

Least to say, it was a tad stressful. But after all that, I made it to the hotel just in time. And even though I had no time to freshen up before our first meeting (great first impression btw) all was well in the end.

After the meetings were over, some people were going out into the city to watch a parade for Los Reyes Magos which is the day when Spanish children receive gifts, similar to Christmas Eve. I wanted to go see it, but given the circumstances it didn’t work out. Instead I took a shower and went to bed — FINALLY.

Well, this is all for my first recap post. Sorry it’s so long. Take care!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sabrina permalink
    January 19, 2012 9:57 pm

    “When you finally open the shade you are greeted by bright light and blue ocean. But wait?! What is that ahead? LAND!! Oh sweet, beautiful, magnificent land!”

    This is my most favorite comment in your blog thus far 😀 LOL

  2. January 24, 2012 10:08 am

    i got the full story up to here last time we vchatted 😀

Leave a Reply

