Skip to content

TA turned ESL Teacher

February 29, 2012

So the other day I started my volunteer program at a school in Salamanca called San Juan Bosco. I originally signed up to assist an English teacher. Well, when I got there, I spoke with the English teachers and they both thought it would be a good idea for me to do my own thing.

So in short, I am the new conversation teacher for TWO classes of students — one class which is equivalent to a senior class in US high schools, and one which is the equivalent to a 6th period junior high class. SCARY!

Cool fact: One of the girls who I met last summer when she was in LA is in my class. Kind of strange that my friend is now my student, but hopefully she can help me out.

Now that I’ve finished my lesson plans, I only feel 50% more confident than I did before. I don’t know if it’ll be too hard, too easy, too long, too short, if there’ll be technology issues — ahh!!

All I know is that I cannot believe I had SUCH a hard time designing a lesson plan about shopping. Maybe because shopping should only ever be about fun and never about schoolwork??… food for thought.

Anyway, first day of teaching is tomorrow (OMG FREAKING OUT). I’ll be updating you all on how it goes sometime after. Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 3:30 am

    How exciting! First classes are always the scariest, but they’re also usually the most fun. Buena suerte!

  2. Proud Papa permalink
    February 29, 2012 8:42 am

    Well….at least you will be teaching two things that you are quite familar with. The language and of course…..shopping!

    Perhaps you can also take on some coaching, become a dance instructor and host a runway fashion show as well.

    Anyway, best wishes and remember….to your students…..you are the USA. Represent us well!

  3. March 11, 2012 11:08 pm

    But a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style. “He profits most who serves best.” by Arthur F. Sheldon.

Leave a Reply

