Skip to content

Teaching Update

March 7, 2012

Since my last post, I’ve officially had 2 days of teaching classes. Here’s a recap:

Day 1

My first class was okay. I started the class off with an article and I had the students read it & discuss it. However, before long it turned into “what does this word mean” instead of a conversation… A lot of the kids are shy and didn’t activley participate (I shouldn’t be too surprised though, right, because I was never one to raise my hand either). But overall I was feeling a little overwhelmed and a tad disappointed with the outcome. Either way it was a learning experience, right?

My second class, however, went much better. The class was talking about heroes that week so I started class off by asking them who their hero is. After we talked about superheroes & then watched a clip from The Incredibles (o en español Los Increíbles) so that they could tell me what happened (they are working on the past tense so I thought it was fitting). After we talked about what superpowers we would have if given the chance. I think it went well :]

Day 2

This day I was less prepared because 1) The first class was talking about travel so I thought it would be interesting to have an organic conversation about places people have been, where they would like to go, etc. 2) the second class’ teacher never told me what they were learning about this week… so I came in with a back up plan but was ready for whatever she wanted me to do.

The first class was okay. I had some good conversations with some students and a few were willing to add to the conversation. I’m still trying to get a feel for the dynamics of the class though and will probably try something more structured next week.

As for the second class, the teacher thought it would be fun for the students to interview me. They asked me questions like “Where did you live when you were little?” (you should have seen their faces when I pronounced it), “When did you arrive to Salamanca?” “What countries have you traveled to?” and “What was the name of your high school” (they found it hilarious when I said “Los Osos”). Overall, it wasn’t too difficult and I think it was a good way for them to get to know me better and hopefully that’ll help them warm up to me.

Anyway, that’s basically all from my first two days of teaching. It’s been interesting, a tad challenging, but I think (read HOPE) that as time goes by I’ll figure out something that works for my classes. Now it’s time to focus on my classes where I’m the student and not the teacher…. ¡Hasta luego!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 10:10 am

    How do you create your own blogger header for your blogspot?

    • March 9, 2012 3:10 pm

      Go to Dashboard, click Appearance, then go to Header. Then upload a picture from a file you have saved.

Leave a Reply

